Skip to content

I’m Yours: The Day Before

August 31, 2011

Let’s start the C and A wedding recaps!  I was so thrilled for this wedding, and I cannot wait to share all that I remember and love about it with you.  So let’s get started!

The day before the wedding was Thursday, August 18, a warm, muggy day with plenty of sunshine and lots of nerves coming from the bride and groom.  They weren’t so much nervous about getting married to each other; they were nervous about the wedding event.  I was getting a little nervous, too, about having to give my speech, but I didn’t tell anyone that besides B.  He was good at keeping secrets.

Before B and I made our way to South Berwick, Maine, we had to make a stop at my parents’ house to pick up the hurricane lamp cover for the unity candle to block the wind (which turned out to be super important).  I also had my annual physical because my doctor was going on vacation the next week, and unless I wanted to miss a day of work, I had to have it that day.  Well, at least the timing worked out.  I also fasted for more than 12 hours for blood work and then they said I didn’t need it.  Gee.  Thanks.  I would have been much friendlier and alert if I had eaten something like breakfast or lunch!

But there was plenty of food at the rehearsal dinner… which was after the rehearsal.  The wedding and reception was held at the Red Barn in South Berwick, a gorgeous open beam barn with a great golf course.  B became the photographer (and one of C’s sisters’ boyfriends thought he really was the photographer) and captured the process.

Yeah, that guy’s not the groom… He’s the wedding coordinator.  Don’t worry, she didn’t marry him.

The rehearsal pretty much went how most go.  A couple people were late, we were all a little jumbled in the beginning, and by the time we walked down the aisle and got through the ceremony, we were pros.  The wedding coordinator kept giving me high fives for knowing how weddings went.  Buddy, I could have your job.  I know what’s going on.

After the rehearsal, we all went to the magical land of food:  Cartelli’s Bar and Grill.  I was a little full since I had stuffed lunch in my face once I got into the car after my appointment, but there was no way I could say no to these dishes.  The food came out in about five courses, and I couldn’t move by the end.  We had crusted ravioli, buffalo chicken, stuffed mushrooms, Caesar salad, bread and olive oil, sausage and peppers, penne a la vodka, steak tips, chocolate cake, cannoli, and cheesecake.  Oh. My. Gosh.  I was seriously worried I wouldn’t fit into my dress the next day.  My favorite had to be the penne a la vodka.  So gooood.

I forgot my ID at the hotel, and B and I were the only ones to get carded.  B had his, so he was a good husband and shared.

As a gift, C gave me a gorgeous picture frame with a saying about friendship.  I almost lost it right there.  It is now proudly displayed on our side table by the front door.  The picture of me, B, C, and A at a Red Sox game looks perfect in it.  Love it.

But even with all of that food, the night wasn’t done.  It was time for an impromptu bachelor party for A!

Leave a Reply

