Skip to content

Snow Days in August

August 30, 2011

It’s a beautiful day; the sun is shining, the birds are singing, the wind is slightly blowing… and it’s a snow day.  For the second day in a row.

Sound ridiculous?  Yeah, it does to me too.  We are supposed to be on our third day of school, and I have yet to meet my students, thanks to Hurricane Irene.  Today would have been the first day I met with my seniors and study halls.  I would have also held my first official literacy class.  The freshmen would have already been through orientation, they would have signed up for the drama club, and we would be on our way into the 2011-2012 school year.

Not so much.  While I am not complaining about having a few more days off with B, I do not like the fact that we are using up storm days at the beginning of the year!  At this rate, we will be going to school until next July.  Outside of my house, there are a few more pine needles and sticks on the ground, and we never lost power.  There was no flooding in our section of town.  In my school district, a half hour away, there are roads that are impassable, electricity that has been out for about 48 hours, and water that doesn’t seem to be going down any time soon.  The district itself is 400 square miles, so there is plenty of area to screw up with a hurricane.

So we wait.  Maybe school will start tomorrow.  For now, I’m going to finish up some planning, some visuals, and some scrapbooking.  It’s kind of nice to enjoy the sunshine in late August.

How has your school year started?  Also, congrats on the first week of teaching, Al!  You can do it!

Also, my thoughts and prayers go out to all of those who have been affected by Hurricane Irene, in a big way or small.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

