Skip to content

Five Things Friday

August 26, 2011

How is it Friday already?  And why is it the end of August?  Slow down, time!  Slow down!

1.  Today was the first contract day for all teachers at school for my district.  It was a professional day, so we didn’t have any students, but we met with a lot of administrators about our new grade book program, new policies, etc.  I’m nervous the year since parts of last year kind of traumatized me, but I am really looking forward to starting up again.  I feel more organized than last year, and it’s a GREAT feeling not being the new teacher in the building.

2. I cannot wait to wear my new school clothes!  Did you ever get super excited about wearing school clothes?  In my family, you were not allowed to wear any of your new clothes, shoes included, until school actually started.  It was a tough wait, and yet, even though my mom isn’t here to shake her finger at me for wearing them early, I still make myself wait.  Now that I’m on a budget, I had to be a lot more creative in how I shopped and saved money.  I’ll be doing a whole post on it, but I can definitely say that my new clothes cost only a fraction of what they would have normally cost.3.  I’m kind of tired about hearing about Hurricane Irene.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I feel for the people who are really getting hit with this storm.  But I live in Maine.  Come on, people.  We’ll get some rain, we’ll get some wind.  Meh.  By the time it gets to us, it will be a tropical storm.  It’s serious still, but not all that big and bad.  People are already saying that we won’t have school on Monday, which would be the quickest storm day I have ever seen.  We’ll see.  I have a feeling it’s going to be a lot of hype and a lot of people hungover from hurricane parties that were started a little too soon.

{Source}

4.  Has anyone else noticed that everyone seems to be announcing pregnancies lately?  I have a couple of colleagues who just announced they’re pregnant, and multiple people I follow on blogs have announced that they are expecting.  Was there something in the water?  I even had a dream that I was pregnant last night… though I knew I wasn’t and someone in my dream told me I was only because I looked fat.  Wow, that’s even insulting outside of my dream.  Am I pregnant?  No.  Am I fat?  No, and I hope to keep it that way.  But congrats to all of the mommies-to-be out there!  Good luck with your pregnancies!

5.  Along with people announcing babies, B and I were lucky enough to receive two wedding invites this week!  I couldn’t be more excited to be a guest at both.  One of the weddings is for my friend B from college.  We were roommates for part of my senior year before some differences of opinion on an now ex-boyfriend led B to move out.  It still makes me sad to think about it, but we have made amends and now chat a lot more.  Her husband is in the military, so everyone who can will be in military dress.  Awesome!  And of course there is no doubt that she will look gorgeous!  Her wedding is December 30 and in the town next door to where B and I live.

The other wedding is that of my co-coach for middle school field hockey, K.  We have been friends since freshman year of college, and she was the one who helped me get my job at the middle school, my first position in my current school district.  We coach field hockey together, and they will be getting married at the same place B and I tied the knot!  I cannot wait to be there in June!

Well, I hope you all have a fabulous week, and if you are in an area that will be affected by Irene, stay safe!  I better go for a turbo walk before the weather changes…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

