Skip to content

If Willy Nelson was a Scarf…

August 14, 2011

I don’t like to waste materials, whether they be food, fabric, crafting supplies, or anything else.  Waste not want not.  After making my super easy infinity scarf, I had a whole portion of a t-shirt left over.  Was I just going to throw it out?  Oh heck no.  If you thought yes, clearly you didn’t read the lines above close enough.

To make the most out of the leftovers, I decided to make another type of scarf:  the fringe scarf.  It’s sort of coming onto the main scene, and since this shirt was already cut up and free, there didn’t seem to be anything wrong with chopping it up a bit more.

I followed this tutorial through most of it, but I deviated in the end because of how short my t-shirt section was.  Feel free to use whichever one you want, but this is how I used my remaining t-shirt section from the last DIY scarf tutorial.

STEP ONE:  Take the leftover t-shirt top and flip it inside out, making sure the two sides line up together when you lay it flat.

I wanted mine flipped inside out to make sure that I could write on it with little effect to the final product. 

STEP TWO:  Draw a giant U shape from the shoulder points to the middle, and around the neckline.

I used a pink highlighter to draw on my shirt because it was the lightest color I had that would not show up so much on the finished product.  Plus, if I ever wash this, it will come out no problem.

STEP THREE:  Cut along the lines you have drawn, detaching the sleeves and the neckline.

STEP FOUR:  Starting in the middle, cut about 3/4 inch strips in the fabric.  Make sure you are cutting both sides at the same time (it will save you loads of time!).  Leave about 2 inches from the top of your cut to the neckline.  Go all the way from shoulder to shoulder.

You can also cut one shoulder off, as I did, because I wanted it to be like a real scarf.  The tutorial I linked to doesn’t do that, but I think it is a reflection on how big your original t-shirt is.  Mine was a unisex large, so the neck wasn’t super huge.  Hers looks a lot larger.

STEP FIVE:  Gently pull each of the fringe so they roll slightly.  This will eliminate any of the unsightly edges from showing.

And trust me, I had some unsightly edges.  Cutting straight lines isn’t really a skill on my resume.  Some edges rolled better than others, and some of them reminded me of those shirts everyone in the 1990s came back with from vacation to the Bahamas.  Just add some beads, and presto!  It’s like a souvenir from a trip that wouldn’t sell scarves.  Well, I don’t know.  Maybe they would.  After all, Jamaica had a bobsled team.  We are the Jamaican bobsled team…

THE FINAL PIECEVerdict?  It’s a good use of the leftovers, but I’m not so sure about the size.  It’s kind of short.  I definitely want to dye it, too.  I might get some fabric dye and see what I can make of it.  I had a thought about dying it with food coloring, but it turns out that food coloring only stays well on animal fibers, not plant ones.  Bummer.  I think with some playing around with it and some color, it just may work.  I would definitely think it would work better on a larger piece of fabric, though.

What kinds of easy scarves have you made lately?  Any ideas on how to jazz this one up?

Leave a Reply

