Skip to content

The Easiest Scarf You Will Ever Make

August 13, 2011

Seriously, I’m not kidding.  If you do it the simple way, it will take you about two minutes!

Infinity, or circle, scarves came on the scene last year and have become pretty popular.  They can be worn loads of ways, and you don’t have to worry about the ends of your scarves dipping into your apple cider (or getting caught in doors… or going too close to the toilet… you know, pick your accident for the day).  They sell for anything between $15 to $40 a piece.  But actually look at them.  What are they?  A continuous piece of fabric.  Even if you don’t have a sewing machine, you can totally do that!  I decided I would try and make my own.  The best part?  It was totally free!

I followed a bunch of online tutorials, so I cannot really quote one or two, but I found some pieces that made it easier for me.  So here you go, your free infinity scarf tutorial!

STEP ONE:  Grab an old t-shirt that is in good shape. 

Pick one that has a cool color, pattern, something that you would be drawn to and wear.  It works best if this shirt is also very large.  I used a shirt I had gotten as a thank you for donating blood; it was in good shape, but I know I wouldn’t wear it for anything besides the occasional workout when I am totally out of every other shirt.  I think it could have a much more productive life as a scarf.  I’ll also be jazzing up the whiteness later.

STEP TWO:  Cut from armpit to armpit in as straight of a line as you can, and then cut off the bottom hem.

Make sure you use a good pair of scissors.  Dull ones are like dull conversations; they take forever and are incredibly aggravating!

Now, if you want to add some pizazz to your scarf, go to the next step.  If you like your scarf the way it is with the print/color you have, jump to the last step.

STEP TWO POINT FIVE:  If you want to add design, pull out some fabric paint or Sharpies and go to town with your creativity!

I decided I wanted some stripes, so I grabbed a yellow and an orange Sharpie and used tape to mark my lines.  This helped me make sure the lines were pretty even and straight.  I then marked each area with what color it would be before I colored it in fully to make sure I had enough stripes in the pattern.  It also showed me where to color, because I know I would totally mess that up at some point!  This part take a while, depending on what you want your design to be, so be patient.  It will go a lot faster with paint, but you have to let it dry.

STEP THREE:  Strrrrreeeeeetttttttch out your scarf!

With all of your might, stretch out the material.  The edges will roll on themselves.

And that’s it!  You’re done!  You have an infinity scarf!  Put that beautiful sucker on, and when people compliment you on it, don’t be afraid to tell them how you made it for almost nothing!  (Also, it’s a really good thing I shaved my armpits before this picture.  That would have been a very hairy situation if not…)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2011 5:19 pm

    Genius! Can’t wait to try this out!

    • August 13, 2011 7:02 pm

      It’s sooooo easy! I just found another fringe scarf that you can do with the leftover neck portion too, so you won’t be wasting material! Check back for that tutorial in a couple of days!

Trackbacks

  1. If Willy Nelson was a Scarf… « Blogimony: Where Marriage and Writing Meet

Leave a Reply

