Skip to content

Poundage Progress

August 12, 2011

So waaaaay back in – oh gosh, was it December? – December, I wrote a blog post about starting my weight loss challenge.  I wanted to lose about ten pounds before Bestie C’s wedding, so I set out to do it the healthy (and sometimes frustrating way) way with diet and exercise.

Now, in the beginning half of August, I am ready to show my progress.  Why haven’t I updated throughout the process?  Well, there wasn’t a ton of progress during the school year, or at least not any that I thought was worth talking about.  Around April, there was a point where I dropped four pounds and was very excited, but when you take a photo to show your four-pound weight loss, it doesn’t translate.  Womp womp.

I really began to push during Lent.  For those of you who don’t celebrate Lent, it’s a period of 40 days and 40 nights when you are supposed to give up something in order to show your willingness to sacrifice for God and Jesus.  This year, I decided to give up laziness.  I pledged to work out at least five times a week, and I stuck to it, even when that meant I had to work out with a severe ear infection and sinus infection.  Thank goodness for pilates.  It really helped me make working out more of a habit, and it got so that my mood would drop whenever I didn’t work out.

When school ended, I had a lot more time to try different types of eating and exercise.  I eat a lot less in the summer because I feel super guilty if all I can remember doing during the day is eating.  That’s never good, so I limit how much I eat.  That being said, I make sure I eat smaller meals and snacks.  Yogurt is a huge staple in my diet, and I can make big bowls of yogurt with fresh fruit for breakfast during the summer.  I also plan on continuing that into the school year.  I also figured out that I wasn’t eating/drinking enough calcium-based foods, foods that can actually help you lose weight.  Way to go, self.  Duh!  Eat more of those and fewer carbs!

Summer also means more chances to get outside and exercise.  I picked up a pair of toning sneakers and have taken up walking/running.  There is a loop that I do that is about 5 miles, requires a lot of hiking uphill, and I LOVE it.  There are plenty of sidewalks to keep me safe off from the road, and I don’t have to drive anywhere.  Awesome!

So with C’s wedding in a handful of days, where am I?  Well, let’s see the evidence.

This is me when I started in all of my winter-hibernation glory.And now:

Weight-wise, I have a little under a pound left!  From this time last year, I have lost a little over ten pounds!  I am so proud of myself, and I want to continue my progress.  My new goal is to lose another 6-7 pounds.  If I take it slow and steady, I am sure I can get there!  I feel so much better about myself and just feel better in general.  I feel more athletic and I can see my shape changing little by little.  With food, I am also more in touch with when I am full.  I don’t find myself overeating a lot anymore.  I have learned to say when I have had enough.  It’s a great feeling.

And with that, I think I’ll go for a fast-paced walk!  I have to fit into that bridesmaid’s dress in a few short days, after all!

If you are trying to lose weight, how are you doing?  Any good tips?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

