Skip to content

Friday Five, West Coast Style!

August 5, 2011

I’m baaaccckkkk!  Fresh (okay, maybe not so fresh because of the 8 hours on an airplane) from the West Coast!  I had an AMAZING week and a half with Bestie Al, and I cannot wait to tell you everything we did!  Trust me, it involves a lot, including vampires, Rogue Spirits, the tiniest bedroom I have ever seen, and No Fish Go Fish.  Mmmmm No Fish…

For now, I’ll just do my Five Things Friday on what has been going on in my mind for the past week or so.

1.  The West Coast is AMAZING!  The scenery is gorgeous, and I cannot seem to get over just how cool the building architecture is.  Some people might just see it as boxy, but I think the angular houses fit into the natural surroundings and make it look like people are trying to live in coexistence with nature.  Plus, how cool is it that most buildings seem to have glass balconies?  Awesome!

2.  Bestie C’s wedding is exactly two weeks from today!  Ahhh!  I am super excited about it, and feel ind of bad for leaving for a vacation right before it.  BUT!  We still have some time to get all of those last minute projects done and make it as amazing as I know it is going to be.  I also need to finish that speech… hmmm…

3.  Parents must really love their teenagers/tweens to take them on the Twilight tour of Washington State.  All of the towns that play key roles in the book (Port Angeles, Forks, and La Push) are on Highway (or rather “Scenic Biway,” whatever biway means…) 101.  It’s a lot of trees, super small towns, and questionable motels.  The town of Forks has a map of pseudo locations you can visit, like “Bella’s house,” but otherwise, it’s a lot of stopping at different places, taking pictures, and getting back in the car.  It was fun for a little while, but I cannot imagine flying across the country just to go on that.

4. Being away from my husband for a long period of time is difficult!  I thought a week and a half would not be so bad; after all, we were apart three months when he studied in Russia.  But now that we’re married, separation feels harder.  I was ready to lose it until the first time we talked on the phone.  He somehow knew what to say, though, when he told me that I needed to focus on the trip and not on missing him.  After that, I wasn’t on the verge of tears anymore.  It was like my mind was finally allowing me to just focus on where I was, not where he was.

5. Being August means that school starts at the end of the month.  I have mixed feelings about it.  Why can’t summer just go on forever?  I love teaching, but it’s exhausting!  I like lounging… lounging is good.  Can I get paid for that?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

