Skip to content

Five Things Friday

July 15, 2011

After reading through my subscriptions as a way of avoiding homework, I came across Mrs. JYW’s post called “Five Things Friday.”  Maybe this will help my blog get back on track and not be such a slacker in the shadows!  Thanks for the idea, Mrs. JYW!

1.  B and I are celebrating our first wedding anniversary this weekend!  I am so excited!  We have an awesome weekend planned at the resort where we got married.  The town it’s in has a little carnival-craft show event planned, so we decided to sign up for one of the activities:  tubing scavenger hunt!  Basically, we will be put into inner tubes and float down the river (which sounds like an even better idea now that the forecast says it will be 90 degrees and muggy as all get out).  While floating, we have a list of pieces to find, like different types of rocks, etc.  According to the website, there will be three different categories, and whoever brings back the most in any of those three wins a prize!  Cheesy?  Eh, maybe a little, but it sounds like a perfect way to stay a little cooler outside and have some fun.  We also plan on doing grown up things like going out to a fancy dinner and having that wonderful picnic I talked about.

One thing that makes me shake my head, though, is how my mother-in-law seemed surprised that we had plans for the weekend.  Um… hi.  Do you remember that big event with tuxes and me in a big white dress last year at this time?  Of course we’re doing something!  Maybe wedding anniversaries aren’t that big of a deal to her?

2.  This summer course I am taking is getting better, but I find that when I am left home alone for the day when B is working, I have no motivation.  Maybe it’s because I don’t have a lot of respect for the facilitator after her string of super unprofessional emails to me when I asked a simple question.  Maybe it’s because of how the deadlines work.  Everything is due by Tuesday at midnight.  I try to get it done way before that, but sometimes I just want to enjoy my summer and be lazy.  Either way, my grade have gone up and I think the facilitator gets the idea that I’m not one of those people who likes to grade grub.  I work hard for what I earn and I don’t ask for special favors.  The information from this course, though, has been very enlightening and will help me be better prepared for my kiddos in the fall.

3.  Speaking of school, why on earth are stores already getting back to school stuff out already?  Seriously people, chill out!  Yeah, some schools in the southern part of the country go back way earlier than Maine, but advertise to them, not us!  You’re freaking me out!

4. I miss my friends like crazy, especially my grad school friends.  It feels like since I got married, I haven’t had a whole lot of time to just be a friend.  I have tried over and over again to reach out to my friends who live two states away to set up times to get together, but there doesn’t seem to be any response back.  Is it me?  Am I doing something wrong?  I have no idea.  It makes me really sad, though, because their friendships mean so much to me.  How do I fix this?

5. On a final happier note, I am eleven days away from seeing Bestie Al for the first time in a year.  As you may remember, she lives on the opposite side of the country in Washington State.  Thanks to my Drama Club stipend, I was able to put aside money to fly out and see her this summer!  B won’t be going with me because he doesn’t get vacation time until he’s been at his company for a year, so I will be traveling by myself.  It sounds a little scary, but I figure that if I could do it when I was a junior in high school, I can suck it up and do it now.  Though thinking back on it, it probably helped that I was sitting next to the air marshal.  Yeah, I could totally tell he was it.  It was 2003; they hadn’t perfected their incognito abilities yet.  I will be spending about a week and a half with her on an epic road trip to Vancouver and different parts of Washington and Oregon.  It will also be my first time crossing the Mississippi River!

What are your Five Things for Friday?

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 15, 2011 8:20 pm

    LOVES! 🙂 Happy almost anniversary day! Hope you and the hubby get to enjoy every single minute of your day/weekend!

    I am getting back to school in September, and I hope I can get back into the work/school schedule as easily as last year… LOVING my summer schedule…. 😛

    Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

