Skip to content

The Good(ish) Wife

July 14, 2011

B spoils me.  More than he probably should, really.  I made it pretty clear early on in marriage that I thought dates were important for keeping relationships alive and thriving, and we have worked hard at that.  Beyond dates, though, B spoils me in the way he takes care of me.  He is constantly asking if he can clean up my plates, get me a drink, or get anything I need.  Some people might see this as “what a husband is supposed to do,” but I make sure I thank him for everything he does.  I don’t want to take his politeness and consideration for granted.  I’ve seen too many couples take each other for granted and forget to appreciate the little things.

In return for his behavior, I like to spoil B right back.  Mostly, my outright spoiling comes in the form of food.  Hey, this wife is no dumby.  How do you get to a man’s (or woman’s or child’s or dog’s or cat’s or anything with a stomach) heart?  Yummy goodies!  You should have it figured out by now that I really like to cook and bake (yes, both.  They weren’t separate skills in my house growing up) from all of the goods I have shown you.  Need a reminder?


Yeah, I like to whip up food.  It runs in my blood.  So is it any surprise that I like to make some sweets for my sweet?  This is what I made today:Homemade cherry pie tarts.  YUHHHH-UMMMM.  I may have already consumed two.

Bing cherries were on sale at the grocery store this week for $2.99 a pound.  Now, normally, I would think this price was super high for fruit, but being that cherries rarely go below that here and B and I are going on a picnic for our anniversary, I thought they would be a nice treat.  I warned B not to take any for lunch at work because I wanted them for our picnic, so no one has touched them.  Today, however, I got the urge to bake something.  It’s a lot cooler today than it has been, and I had a pre-made pie crust in the fridge that needed to be used.  Now, I want to throw in this disclaimer:  I do NOT endorse pre-made pie crusts.  Pie crust is so easy to make, and it takes soooooo much better when you make it yourself.  That being said, I was dog-sitting for my in-laws when I had to make a bunch of food for Bestie C’s bridal shower.  Not wanting to lug my flour and Crisco everywhere for a weekend, I broke down and bought a pie crust.  They only came in boxes of two, so I made a quiche with one and now I have made cherry tarts with the other.  But seriously.  Make your own!

To save my cooking cred, yo, I made my own cherry pie filling.  Sure, you could buy it in a can, but what is all of that junk in it?  Not really something I want to feed my husband.  I took about twenty of the cherries out of our stock, pitted them and quartered them.  I then loosely followed this recipe, cutting the amounts to fit what I needed.  I used about 3/8 cup water, 1/8 cup Splenda, and 1.5 tablespoons corn starch.  No lemon juice, but I did throw in about half a tablespoon of cinnamon.  I followed the rest of the directions and cooked it for 8.5 minutes.  It looked thick enough for what I wanted, so I just took it off when I thought it was done.  I also didn’t use almond extract because I didn’t have any.

To put together the tarts, I cut the pie crust into fourths and then cut the two middle two in half horizontally (you know, hamburger way).  The outer parts are so round that I figured it was just easier to make them their own individual tarts.  I arranged them on a baking sheet and spooned a little over a tablespoon of filling onto one end of each crust.  Just don’t put it too close to the edge since you will have to press the crusts together.  With the filling inside, fold the crust over the filling and smush (technical term) together the crust edges with a fork.  It looks all fancy that way too.  Poke some holes in the top to let out steam, and repeat for all of the tarts.  Bake at 400 degrees for 12 minutes.  Try to avoid gorging on them before they are cool.  You’ll need your tongue in one piece to fully taste them.

They are SO tasty and super easy.  Give them a shot!  I cannot wait to surprise B with them when he gets home from work!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

