Skip to content

Heeelllloooo Summer!

June 15, 2011

At 2:00 PM yesterday afternoon, a new stage began.  It’s the start of summer vacation!  WOOOOOHOOOOO!  I am officially out of school for the summer, and I am loving it so far (yes, it has been less than 24 hours).  Bring on the beach, writing time, an online class on Literacy Research, Miss C’s wedding (hooray!), our first wedding anniversary and an epic roadtrip on the west coast with Bestie Al!  Oh, summer 2011, you’re going to be great!

To kick off the summer, B and I decided to go out to dinner last night at a local restaurant to celebrate our new car purchase and my end of my second year of teaching.  Davinci’s is an American/Italian restaurant that hosts an all-you-care-to-eat pizza, soup, and salad dinner for a very reasonable price.  We had heard great things about it from different groups of friends, so we decided to give it a shot.  After all, if there is one thing that B loves nearly as much as me and theater, it’s pizza.

Unfortunately, I was so hungry and ready to jump into the car that I forgot my camera for the evening (I know!  Bummer!), but I can tell you that the food was pretty good.  I wasn’t blown away, but it was certainly good.  I really liked the garlic knots.  I was, however, a little taken aback when I bit into a piece of what I thought was blonde pizza (no red sauce) and it turned out to be dessert pizza with NUTMEG.  For those of you who don’t know, I’m allergic to nutmeg.  Thankfully, it was only a small amount and caused no more than severe stomach cramps in the middle of the night.

After dinner, we scooted over to Pedro O’Hara’s, an Irish-Mexican bar and restaurant, to join a group of my coworkers for a night of trivia.  I have always wanted to try it, but I had never had the chance.  Since I didn’t have school in the morning, and my coworkers were available, we decided to have a go at it.  It was SO. MUCH. FUN!  I loved it!  I did feel kind of dumb, though, since I had no clue on most of the questions, but that’s okay.  For a trivia virgin, I think I held my own.  Our group ended up placing third and scoring some t-shirts.  All in all, it was a great time and I really hope we all can do it again.

So here is to summer!  Here’s to lots of blog posts and lots of fun with friends and family!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

