Skip to content

Paging Dr. H

April 20, 2011

Ah, April vacation.  There’s nothing like having a week off right before my birthday.  It’s a great week to just recoup before the final push of the school year.

This year, however, had different plans.  Here I am, finally having time to blog and catch up on life, ready to relax and enjoy me some husband time, and life had another plan.  This plan came in the form of a severe ear infection and an unpleasant sinus infection.  Ooohhh joy.  I don’t typically go to the doctor’s when I am sick; I usually subscribe to the idea that I can just power through it and get better, but after being sick and miserable for over a week, I decided it was time to go.  B, being the amazing husband that he is, wouldn’t hear of me driving there alone, so he packed me into the car and drove me to the doctor, to the dentist to get panoramic x-rays of my teeth for a wisdom tooth extraction in June, and to the pharmacy to get my newest best friend:  Augmentin.

Have you ever met Augmentin?  No?  Let me introduce you.

{Source}

Augmentin is a combination of amoxicillin and another antibiotic, so anyone who is allergic to the “cillin” family wouldn’t get along with this.  The pills are HUGE.  They rival the size of the Omega-3 pills I take in the morning, only these are a little flatter and a whole lot more chalky.  Deeelicious!  It does come with a warning that taking it could result in some nasty digestive issues, but it can be easy to combat with some yogurt, thanks to the knowledge I gained when I had severe cellulitous from a cat bite.  Hopefully, taking these two of these a day will knock all of it out of my system.  Fast.

The other miracle worker in my illness is B.  I might as well name him Dr. H (which he may be when he gets into grad school… just not the medical doctor type…).  He’s been taking care of me all week, making me sleep, stay on the couch, and drink tons of orange juice.  Has he said a word about our “at the table” dinners not happening for the week?  No.  Has he complained about how I am never in bed with him in the morning when he wakes up?  Never.  Has he rolled his eyes or told me to suck it up when I get a little whiny?  Nope.  If these thoughts are bouncing around in his noggin, he’s doing a fabulous job keeping it under wraps.  He has his own worries going on right now, and the last thing he needs is a wife who can’t seem to keep her immune system on the healthy side.

When you get married, you promise to support and love each other during sickness and in health.  I understand the reality of that, especially in my family.  I have seen what my parents have gone through with my mom being sick on and off since I was a senior in high school.  Me having an ear infection and a sinus infection is nothing compared to that, but I find that I have a hard time just letting B take care of me.  I don’t want to be a burden.  I don’t want to suck up his time with “can you get me more juice?” and “where are the tissues?”  I guess it’s a lesson that comes along with marriage; you have to learn when it’s okay to just let the other person take care of you when you’re down.  I think B is trying to teach me that, just like he told me it was time to go to the doctor.

Leave a Reply

