Skip to content

Happy Day of Love!

February 14, 2011

To all of my valentines around the blogosphere and the world,

Happy Valentine’s Day!  Remember, it’s not about the roses you get, or if you have a date, or if you are single and trying to eat every piece of chocolate on the face of the earth.  Valentine’s Day is about showing the people you love that you love them.  It’s not about you (singular); it’s about you (plural).  Do you have a cat?  Your cat can be your valentine.  Shape some kitty food into a heart for your festive feline.  Do you have friends?  Make them some great Valentine’s Day treats.  This isn’t about “oh my gosh, I haven’t found the love of my life yet!  Woe is me!”  The day is about showing others that you care about your relationship.

A lot of people say that they hate Valentine’s Day because the whole world focuses on them being single and miserable.  Sorry folks, but I’m pretty sure you are the ones who are only focusing on that.  This isn’t about cards or candy or stuffed bears or little Cupids.  I don’t celebrate having a loving husband by rubbing it in other single people’s noses.  Choose what you want to see in your life:  the awesome relationships you have with anyone, not just a significant other, or the ones you don’t.  I choose to focus on those I love, not those who don’t love me back.  Thankfully, I have a lot in the former category.

And B, I love you more than words can say, but I hope that you know that every day.  Tonight, let’s celebrate us with some chicken parm, those adorable mini pies you made me, and some snuggle time.  I couldn’t think of a better man to spend the holiday with!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 16, 2011 7:33 pm

    Awww! What a sweet Valentine’s post! I suppose you are right – you get what you want to out of Valentine’s Day.

Leave a Reply

