Skip to content

Loving Our Nine Lives

February 10, 2011

No, we’re not getting a cat.  Not yet, anyway.  This post is about B and I and our nine years together.

Today is our nine-year anniversary!{Source}

I know a lot of people tend to stop celebrating their dating anniversary when they get married, and it does make some sense, but I think it’s important to acknowledge and celebrate the day regardless of marital status.  This is the day we began as “us.”  This is the day we began talking about what we wanted to do in the future, though when we were sophomores in high school the future was more like “what are you doing this weekend?”  This is the day I decided to give my heart over to B.  We just didn’t know it would last this long.

I told B this morning that this is the day he made me the luckiest girl in the world, as well as the happiest.  We had no idea what we would experience together, and I think we are fantastic partners because of it.  We know each other, care about each other, and love each other in more ways than I could count.  He’s my life partner and I love him.

So with all of this love in the air, I thought it only fit to make a very loving meal.  Instead of spending the money on a meal out after a super long day at work for both of us, I thought I would throw my energy into something homemade.  What kind of meal portrays that much love and nostalgia?  Check it out:

1.  Trader Joe’s Tomato and Roasted Red Pepper Soup

{Source}

We have had a box (yes, this soup comes in a box) of this delicious soup sitting in our cupboard since the very latest parts of December thanks to a trip to Trader Joe’s with my mom.  I got the reduced sodium kind (since I don’t believe in salt) and I plan on jazzing it up for tonight with some garlic and chopped tomatoes.  My reasoning behind this selection is (1) it’s a lovable comfort food, (2) we already had it, and (3) it pairs well with the other food selections.  I promise, this is the lamest food choice of the bunch.  The others are much more romantic.  And maybe soup will remind him of all of the soup we ate in Ireland?

2.  Baked Brie with Apricot Jam and Sliced Apples

{Source}

Picture something like this, only with apricot jam on the top.  I bought a multi-grain baguette, some Granny Smith apples, and a wedge of brie as part of our meal because (1) B loves loves loves brie (it’s the only cheese he enjoys for the most part), (2) this is the meal we shared on New Year’s Eve, and (3) we share a dream of going to Paris in the (hopefully) near future.  I will be serving the baked brie with apple slices and some toasted baguette.  Yum!

3.  Tomato Bruschetta

{Source}

Bruschetta brings me back to our Italian portion of our honeymoon.  I plan on cutting up half of our baguette and using it as some lovely baked tomato bruschetta as a side dish.  Throw some basil and mozzarella on there and we have a winner.

Along with all of this, I have to coach drama, work out, shave my legs (happy anniversary hunny!), shower, and dress up.  Phew.

Annnndddd…. go!

P.S.  I love you B!  Happy date-versary!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 11, 2011 8:24 pm

    Happy anniversary! My husband and I still celebrate the day we first started dating (10 years this November!). I think it’s an important date in our history and I hope we always think about it!

Leave a Reply

