Skip to content

Vlog Friday: Be Smart, Creative, and Live Somewhere Else

February 4, 2011

Welcome to the third week (for me) of Vlog Friday!  I keep finding these to be more and more fun, but I have to admit that I really had to think about this week’s prompt.  The question was…

What was the best advice you ever received?

Even though I am only in my early twenties (good lord, I have to start saying mid-twenties in April!  AGH!), I feel like I have received a lot of advice… it’s just that some of it never stuck.  Or I had already heard it.  Or I cast it off as cliche.  Or I just plain Jane forgot.  Either way, I did think of three that really have shaped who I have become and what I have accomplished.  Oh, and you get to hear what I sound like when the lovely cold my husband gave me starts turning into laryngitis after a day of teaching and drama practice!  Double trouble!

Here is the picture from the people at Martha Stewart that I am in the process of composing myself:{Source}

Clearly, mine is a work in progress (and on the floor), but it’s getting there, thanks to Wednesday’s snow day!

And really, listen to my last piece of advice to you.  Everyone needs to know!  Spread the word!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2011 4:14 pm

    I so agree with that last piece of advice! I moved 2,000 miles away from my parents for college, and have lived in five different cities and states since. I think it’s such a great way to experience the country and to expose yourself to different cultures and ways of life. Scary, yes, but like you said, I think it teaches independence and builds confidence.

    It’s funny to hear you talk about Providence as a big scary city! But I suppose if I’d moved there from my tiny hometown, I would have felt the same way. 🙂

  2. February 5, 2011 4:12 am

    I think it’s great that the advice your elementary teacher gave you has influenced your life so much!

    And I love the chandelier you’re making, when I first saw that on Martha Stewart I immediately wanted to make one! Can’t wait to see the finished product!

Leave a Reply

