Skip to content

Butter My Squash

January 24, 2011

Growing up, I hated squash.  It was gooey, stringy, and tasted really weird.  Heck, I still think these things about eating a mouthful of regular squash.  It is definitely not my veggie of choice, but with B and my resolution to eat more vegetables, I dove into one of my (now) favorite cookbooks, Deceptively Delicious by Jessica Seinfeld (yep, she’s Jerry’s wife!), and found a whole lot I could do with some basic squash.  The question was, would any of it taste good?

Butternut squash happens to be a super versatile food.  I followed the cookbook’s instructions on how to roast and puree, and I have been adding it to our meals every since.  You want to know a secret?  It ROCKS!  I can’t even taste the squash in anything we have cooked it in and we’re getting a boat load of fiber, vitamin A, vitamin C, potassium, a handful of B vitamins and Omega-3s!  Score!  It ups our veggie count for every dish, too, which helps us keep on track for eating more vegetables.

To make butternut squash puree, all you have to do is:

1.  Buy a butternut squash (duh).

2.  Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

3.  Cut off the ends of the squash.  Cut in half length-wise, scoop out the seeds and pulpy stuff from the inside circle (save the seeds!) and put the cut side down on a pan.

This guy is sweating it out…

4.  Bake the squash for 45 to 50 minutes.

5.  Take the squash out of the oven and let cool for about 20 minutes.

6.  Scoop out the insides and put into a food processor.  Process for about 2 minutes.

Et voila!  You have squash puree!

So you want to know how we have used it?  I have thrown it into crock pot minestrone soup, mixed it with part-skim mozzarella and Smart Balance to use to make grilled cheese sandwiches (B said these were the best grilled cheese sandwiches he has ever had!), and gobbled it up in some chicken chili.  Even when the recipe had nothing to do with squash, I threw at least a cup in.  I also roasted the seeds from the inside of the squash and added them to my yogurt for lunch the next day.  B and I have begun to experiment with other food purees too.  I highly recommend the cookbook, as it has some fabulous ideas for meals with a lot of added veggies (and you can’t even taste them!).  It’s perfect for people who have picky eaters to please.  Tonight, B and I are trying the meatball soup with squash, carrot, and tomato purees!  Yum!

If puree isn’t your thing, HungryGirl just sent out an email about making butternut squash fries, and they are zero WeightWatcher’s Plus points!  Check out the recipe here.

What recipes do you love?  How do you get your veggies in?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2011 6:14 pm

    I am also not a squash fan AT ALL, but have found two recipes that I actually like with it! One is to make a butternut squash chili. The other is a recipe for acorn squash…cut in half, scoop out seeds, score the insides, put some butter and brown sugar in each half and bake until tender. So delicious!

  2. January 25, 2011 10:03 pm

    I do NOT like squash. But I found that I love butternut squash soup. We make it with lots of spices (recipe here if you’re interested: http://lifeofadoctorswife.wordpress.com/2009/10/24/the-perfect-fall-meal) which masks the squashy taste. YUM.

    I also enjoy zucchini a lot. You can saute it in a little butter or olive oil or smart balance with some shallot and garlic. It’s really good.

  3. January 26, 2011 1:29 am

    My mom makes squash and I love it but my husband cannot stand it! He doesnt like anything in the gourd family really! I LOVE baked seeds too so I bet these would be delicious! I also love zucchini – my mom has a great zucchini bread recipe if youre interested!

Leave a Reply

