Skip to content

Dialect Vlog – Yes, I Say Things Funnily

January 20, 2011

I decided to try something new today; I decided to jump on the dialect bandwagon and create a vlog.  A vlog is a video blog that you speak instead of typing.  While it feels really weird to talk to my computer and not stare at the weird camera angle my computer has now captured my face in, it does save a lot of typing time!  I ended up doing two, one of which you will see tomorrow to go along with the Vlog Friday challenge set up through Kate at Marsh Mellow Goodness.  The first one is below for your horror amusement.

I decided to do the dialect vlog because Mainers need someone to stick up for their speech patterns.  I don’t sound like the stereotypical Mainer (thank you very much) and I prove that people from Maine can indeed pronounce their Rs and As separately and correctly.  While I am not going to apologize for my makeup-less self (hey, I was about to work out!  Give me a break on a Thursday night!), I do have the following observations to make:

1.  This camera angle gives me something of a double chin.  Unattractive.

2.  I need a haircut.

3.  Add an eyebrow waxing to that list too.

4.  THESE VLOGS ARE KIND OF FUN!  DO IT!

So try it out with me!  Here are the prompts that I responded to and that you should try out as well!

Here are the words to repeat and questions to answer:

Aunt, Route, Wash, Oil, Theater, Iron, Salmon, Caramel, Fire, Water, Sure, Data, Ruin, Crayon, Toilet, New Orleans, Pecan, Both, Again, Probably, Spitting Image, Alabama, Lawyer, Coupon, Mayonnaise, Syrup, Pajamas, Caught

And the questions:

  • What is it called when you throw toilet paper on a house?
  • What is the bug that when you touch it, it curls into a ball?
  • What is the bubbly carbonated drink called?
  • What do you call gym shoes?
  • What do you say to address a group of people?
  • What do you call the kind of spider that has an oval-shaped body and extremely long legs?
  • What do you call your grandparents?
  • What do you call the wheeled contraption in which you carry groceries at the supermarket?
  • What do you call it when rain falls while the sun is shining?
  • What is the thing you change the TV channel with?

Give it a shot!  It’ll be worth it (and even if it just makes you laugh, isn’t that something?).

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 21, 2011 10:31 pm

    Just found you via Marsh Mellow Goodness! I am loving this dialect vlog… It’s very interesting! And I totally agree with you… I have no idea how some of these words could be pronounced differently! Alabama? Spitting image? CAUGHT? Strange.

Leave a Reply

