Skip to content

An Honor and a Half

January 10, 2011

I’ve written before about how much I believe people need enthusiasm during large life processes and how everyone deserves to be surrounded by people who will allow them to achieve that sense of accomplishment and excitement, particularly during events that can create a lot of stress and worry.  Weddings would be a shining example.  So many emotions surround weddings, from being excited to marry your significant other to being stressed about pleasing everyone to being sad that you are moving on from being a singular unit in your immediate family to being a whole new family separate from them.  It’s a roller coaster, and the bride and groom (yes, I believe in total equality when it comes to weddings; it’s not just the bride’s day!) deserve to have people around them who will support them through it all.

Yesterday evening, I was asked to be one of those people.

Ms. C was my roommate in college.  When people typically say that, they mean that they were roommates for a year and still remained friends.  Not us.  We were roommates all four years and currently live two doors down from each other in our apartment complex.  We regularly have Wii nights and invite them over for dinner.  She is one of my best friends, and she is getting married in August (remember my weight loss goal happens to be her wedding date?).  I couldn’t be happier for C and her fiance A.  I have seen their relationship from the start and A practically lived with us our junior and senior years of college.  They have a relationship where they are seriously two puzzle pieces coming together to make the whole picture of the world brighter (can you tell I love these guys?!).

Since the proposal, C has been coming to me about wedding advice.  I love weddings and since we just had ours in July, it made sense.  I have helped with invitation wording, finding vendors, coming up with questions to ask, and even put her in and pulled her out of all of the wedding gowns she tried on.  I have had nothing but fun!  A few people who had heard about my involvement asked if I was a bridesmaid, and each time I would smile and tell them no.  Then there would be a face that would ask, “Then why on earth are you so involved?”  I think it’s hard for people to understand that some people don’t just help to get a title; some people help because they love whom they are helping.  C has three sisters, and I knew she wanted to keep her wedding party small.  With three blood relatives vying for spots, I was perfectly content to sit back and help from the sidelines.  C had already asked me if I would take “getting ready” pictures on the morning of the wedding, so I could still be involved as she got dressed.  It was a win-win!

And then, in the middle of the kitchen during B’s belated birthday party, she asked me to be her Matron of Honor.  Um… excuse me?  YES I WILL!  I started jumping up and down and hugging her (she’s not really a hugging person).  I couldn’t believe it!  Why me?  Why not one of her sisters?  One sister decided that she didn’t want to have the role of bridesmaid and stepped aside, leaving room for me.  I am beyond the moon ecstatic and find myself planning out my speech as I workout.  There are so many stories I could tell that would be appropriate and yet funny; thank goodness I have seven months to write this sucker!

I couldn’t be more honored to play such a big role for such a good friend.  Although I am pumped to be back in wedding-planning business, I think it’s more exciting to be able to be there for one of my best friends during a special life event.  Let the wedding extravaganza begin!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2011 6:19 pm

    Thats really awesome!! My friend K is getting married in October and Ive been helping her a lot and talking to her a lot. We are fairly new friends compared to the other girls she will probably be asking for her BP – but that is just fine with me! Congrats on such a high honor 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. We Interupt This Wedding Recap… | Here Comes the Blog

Leave a Reply

