Skip to content

Diet Dessert Heaven

January 7, 2011

Oh yes, people, there is such a place.  And I have found it.  And it is made out of FRUIT!

This past week, as I have been starting my calorie tracking and my exercise program, I keep feeling like the calorie count has been holding me back from a lot of foods, which is the point I suppose.  But I kept looking at the numbers and wondering where is was all supposed to fit in.  The key to diets, as stated by many experts, is not depriving yourself.  Easier said than done, but I feel like I am giving it a shot.  Dessert, however, would just have to sit on the back burner.

Today I came home and felt lousy.  I’m not sick (besides the sniffles), but my energy has been zapped.  It’s the end of the week back from Christmas vacation, and my students always seem to need more attention and energy during this week.  If you are a teacher, you probably know what I am talking about.  Anyway, I felt like I was stuck in a funk.  I happened to look at my calories for the day and noticed that I hadn’t eaten my banana from lunch.  It was already on my calorie count, so why not turn it into something?  How about ice cream?

I know this sounds crazy.  Ice cream?  And I’m worried about calories?  Have I lost my mind?  Nope.  I have a secret recipe. Okay, it’s not so secret and it isn’t just mine, but I do like to impress people with it!  I made ice cream out of just bananas! No sugar, no dairy… nothing! I have made it for dessert before, so I know B and I are both fans.  It’s cool, creamy, and delicious.  And it doesn’t make me miss real ice cream at all.

Once I had the ice cream situation planned, I wanted to jazz it up somehow.  In previous attempts, I had added Nutella to the banana mix, but I didn’t want to add more unnecessary empty calories.  What about adding more fruit?  I had come across a WeightWatchers dessert option earlier in the day that said if you heat sliced apple in the microwave for 40 seconds and then sprinkle with cinnamon, it essentially doesn’t count as even one whole point.  Score!  Dessert was born!  How about some sugar-free, fat free apple with ice cream and cinnamon?It is SO delicious!  You would have no idea there was no sugar added!  B put chocolate chips on his instead of cinnamon, so his definitely broke the diet rules, but even then, he still got two servings of fruit!

Hungry yet?  Here are the recipes!

For the banana ice cream, I got my recipe from this blog.  I followed the instructions pretty much as they were.  To make our servings, I used two bananas that were fairly ripe and it worked fine.  Slice the bananas and arrange in a single layer on a plate, pie dish, or Pyrex pan.  Put in the freezer for about two hours (or more).  Once time is up, take the bananas out and put them into a food processor.  Chop them until they become the consistency of soft serve ice cream.  Spoon out and enjoy!

For the apples, I used my apple slicer/corer and it split the apple into eight wedges.  The apples we used were Granny Smiths.  I put four wedges in each of our dishes and popped them into the microwave for 40 seconds each.  Once warm, I sprinkled the apples with cinnamon (at least I did for mine) and then topped with the banana ice cream.  And that was it!

I think I have officially found my go-to dessert when I need something delicious that won’t add to my butt.

What do you think?

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 9, 2011 2:20 pm

    Hi,
    I am writing a book called “So…How Did You Meet Anyway?” It is a collection of people’s “how we met” stories.
    I have posted the stories which have been sent in on;
    So…How Did You Meet Anyway?
    http://wwwsohowdidyoumeet.blogspot.com/
    I am always shopping for stories and I would like to add yours. Please check out the site, and if you would like to contribute your “how we met” story contact me at;
    susan.amestoy@gmail.com
    If I am writing to you a second time, it’s only because I really want your story:)
    Happy New Year and…congratulations!
    Susan

Leave a Reply

