Skip to content

GOOOOAAAALLLLLL!

January 2, 2011

I am sitting here on a Sunday morning, still in the t-shirt I wore to bed, watching B play with the FIFA ’09 Wii soccer game I gave him for Christmas.  While the constant whistles that come out of the Wii remotes are kind of annoying, the announcer’s British accent is pretty adorable.  But I digress.  The fact that this game keeps shouting “GOOOOAAAALLLL!” like its life depended on it has made me think that it’s time to set some goals for 2011.  As a teacher, I am constantly telling my students to think about and set goals for their lives, but in the rare seconds I have time to think of my own, something else steals my attention (like the Irish announcer just did on the game).

So today is the day.  I am setting some goals for 2011, and I certainly hope I can accomplish them over the coming year.  Some of them may sound easy, but that’s the point of goals, isn’t it?  You set them in hopes that they will indeed be manageable and attainable.

Goals for 2011

  • Add more vegetables to my diet.
  • Get my correcting done faster when I receive it so I am not stuck scrambling on the Sunday before we return to school (like I am today…).
  • Become more comfortable in my own skin.
  • Lose at least 10 pounds.
  • Have a job for the 2011-2012 school year.
  • Visit more places I have never been.
  • Take more photos, including breaking into the wedding photography world.
  • Exercise more regularly.
  • Continue to have a loving, supportive, happy relationship with my husband where we remember just how lucky we are to have each other.
  • Spend more time with friends.

Today, I started and filled out a profile on SparkPeople after having it recommended on one of the wedding websites I still stalk.  It asks you food preferences, weight goals, and, which I find to be more important, total lifestyle goals.  It helps you track different nutrients, calories, etc.  From the first day of using it, I really like how user-friendly it is and how I can get recipe ideas from the site.  I hope that I continue to use it and see some results.

What are your goals for the new year?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

