Skip to content

Love Weights

December 29, 2010

Ha ha.  I know.  It’s a play on what health teachers, churches, and parents try to tell you in high school so you don’t end up with a baby (and apparently it worked on B and I).  But I’m not tackling the sex issue.  I’ve already talked about our personal choices here.  This one is a little less loaded with controversy and a little more appropriate for those who read blogs during lunchtime at work.  This one is about love weight, those pesky pounds that sneak up on you when you enter into a relationship and feel completely comfortable.  That love weight.

I have to be honest; I do not have the healthiest of body images.  It’s a combination of reasons, like being one of the largest girls in my group of friends growing up, being the first one to develop in fifth grade, being told repeatedly by classmates in elementary school that I was fat, and growing up with a sister who was always told that she was pretty and that I should think myself lucky to “at least have brains.”  I think one of the most painful moments was when my best friend in middle and high school asked me to go shopping with her and her mom.  She didn’t have great body confidence either, so she was upset on the way home from the mall when not all of the clothes looked good on her.  Her mom was trying to be supportive, so she told her how beautiful she was with her dark hair, tanned complexion, and hourglass stature.  She kept going on and on to make my friend feel better like a good mom should, but then she looked in the mirror at me and said, “Well E, you have… um… well… I guess you have your eyes working for you…”  I didn’t ask for compliments.  I hadn’t said anything, and right then I wished she hadn’t.  Classy, people.  Very classy.

My weight has gone up and down over the years, and though I did gain some in college, I seemed to lose more than I did in high school.  I’ve always been involved with sports or some sort of exercise since the summer after sixth grade when I attended field hockey camp for the first time, and though I still suck at running and have asthma, I love playing sports and looking athletically tough.  Now that life doesn’t always allow me the time to join teams, I have added going to the gym and exercise DVDs to my list of possibilities.

That being said, I find that I lack the will power to do it every single day.  I’m not sure why, but I find it hard to throw myself off of the couch after a day of teaching and drama practice (and yes, drama practice is an actual event and not just a reference to being a teacher).  Maybe it’s the vortex of a couch we have, maybe it’s how tired I am.  I’m not sure.  But I do know that I need to be able to kick myself in the butt to do it.

So here it is, December 29, 2010.  New Year’s Eve is a few days away, and while it may sound completely cliche, I want to make a resolution to get into shape.  Here’s the plan:

1.  Set a manageable goal: I would like to lose 10 pounds by August 19, Miss C (one of my bridesmaids and best friends) and Mr. A’s wedding date.  While I am not a bridesmaid, I do want to either fit into or have to take in the dress I plan on wearing.  It gives me a timeline to keep myself in check.

2.  Tools: 30 Day Shred with Jillian Michaels and the 20 minute Pilates workout with Mari Windsor

3.  Plan: Food Preparation: One thing that really works for weight loss is being able to cook on your own.  We do that.  A LOT.  I buy almost all low fat options and plan on trying to make what we typically buy as processed foods (granola bars, etc.).  I love to cook, so this sounds like fun to me!

Working out: I plan on working out to Jillian Michaels at least four times a week.  The days where I don’t feel like working out to Jillian will be Pilates days.  If we travel or go somewhere where bringing my workout DVDs isn’t an option, I will do sit ups and push ups when I can to at least maintain so movement.

Portion control: This will now be my motto:  “I love B, but I don’t have to eat like him.”  B likes to split food portions down the middle to be even, which has been great for him because he has lost weight, but I have gained it.  I am not a dude, and therefore I do not need to eat like one.  I will need to train B on how much to actually put on my plate when he serves me, and I will adjust from there.

Back-up:  Speaking of B, he will be my back-up.  He has been mentioning lately that he feels like he has been putting a little more weight back on and he doesn’t want it.  If he wants to become more weight conscious with me, it will only help me to develop my own routine.  Strength in numbers, people!

Time out: There are appropriate times of the day to eat and then there are not.  After 8 PM is one of those “not” times.  You are supposed to stop eating 2 to 3 hours before you go to bed, so I plan on keeping this in mind to stop myself from tacking on extra calories after dinner.  To help cut down on calories further, I will drink at least a cup of water any time I feel hungry to make sure that it actually is hunger and not just me being thirsty.  The brain mixes up the signals for thirst and hunger a lot, so the more you drink water, the better you will be at figuring out exactly what your body needs.

More veggies:  My latest trick has been hiding veggies in the dishes I make.  Some veggies don’t taste great to me, but I know I need to eat them, so I have found ways to mask the flavor.  My goal is to add veggies to every dinner and try to find some sort of veggie to add to my lunches.  I have to tell you though, I do not care for baby carrots by themselves.  Maybe some dressing will help…

Blogging accountability:  Each week, I will do a post on how my week went.  Did I eat more when I was feeling a certain way?  Did I eat my veggies?  How is working out going?  What’s going on with my weight?  I will also be sharing any cooking tricks I discover as I make super healthy meals!

So there it is, my plan to lose 10 pounds in 8 months.  Think I can do it?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2010 5:10 pm

    Simply great! You have laid out a sensible plan that even I could follow — cheers and best wishes to you as you go for it 🙂

  2. Jen D. permalink
    January 12, 2011 5:56 am

    Hummus or ranch with carrots = yum! Also, pasta with veggies is a good yummy way to get your veggies in…think summer squash, zucchini, onions, peppers, etc…

Trackbacks

  1. Resolution Check In – Day 5 « Blogimony: Where Marriage and Writing Meet
  2. Poundage Progress « Blogimony: Where Marriage and Writing Meet

Leave a Reply

