Skip to content

Food Frenzies: Snickerdoodles

December 9, 2010

If there is one ingredient that my husband would be oh so happy if I stopped using it, it would be cinnamon.  That’s right, my beloved cinnamon.  I managed to fall in love with the one man who happens to despise the one ingredient I tend to put in everything this time of year.  Ah fate, you do have quite the sense of humor!

B’s taste buds aside, I tend to use cinnamon a lot to make up for one of my own idiosyncrasies:  my allergy to nutmeg.  I have only ever heard of one other human being being allergic to it, and when I ask about it in restaurants, I typically get a crazy, suspicious stare as if the waiter is trying to figure out if I am an undercover teenage-looking food critic who is trying to steal their dessert recipes.  Nope, just trying not to make my throat swell, thanks!  The fall and winter seasons are difficult to maneuver when you have a hankering for something creative because everything is packed with spices.  Even the classics could mean hours of wheezing:  anything with apples or pumpkin, egg nog, spinach dips, chutneys, cranberry dishes.  The list goes on.  So, I make up for it in my recipes by adding a dash (or two or five) of extra cinnamon.  Only B seems to complain.

But there was no complaining last night when I whipped out these cookies as he came through the door.  Usually, my afternoons after school are dedicated to writing, watching whatever ABC show I happened to miss, or chatting with my friends across the country, but last night I felt the need to cook.  I pulled out my mom’s handmade cookbook (volume 2) and settled on the page that makes me think of the holiday season:  Snickerdoodles.

If you have never had snickerdoodles, you are in for a treat.  Packed with the tasty things (and totally unhealthy things) of the holiday season, these cookies are made with butter, sugar, cinnamon, and lots of love.  They are super quick and easy to make, and a batch makes around 66 cookies.  They are perfect for bringing to a party, a bake sale, or packaging up to give out as gifts to coworkers.  They are also a great cookie to make with small children because they get to practice their fine motor skills by rolling the dough into balls and then rolling it in a cinnamon-sugar mixture (what?  I’m a teacher!  I know these things!). Best of all, these cookies contain cinnamon, but not enough to make B reject them, and have nothing to do with nutmeg.

B Family Snickerdoodles

Dough

3.75 cups all-purpose flour (in mine, I used 2.75 cups of white flour and 1 cup wheat)

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar

1 cup of butter or margarine

2 cups sugar (I wasn’t lying about the butter and sugar part)

2 eggs

1/4 milk

1 teaspoon vanilla

Sugar Coating

3 tablespoons sugar

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Process

1.  Line a cookie sheet with aluminum foil and preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Mix the cinnamon and sugar for the coating on a dinner plate and set aside. 

2.  Stir together flour, baking soda, cream of tartar, and a pinch of salt (completely optional!).

3.  Beat butter for 30 seconds.

4.  Add the two cups of sugar and beat until fluffy.

5.  Add eggs, milk, and vanilla, and then beat well.

6.  Add dry ingredients to beaten mixture, beating until well blended.

7.  Using your hands, form the dough into one-inch balls and roll in cinnamon-sugar mix.  Place on baking sheet. 

8.  Once all of the dough has been made into balls and coated, make sure they are spread across the cookie sheet.  These cookies don’t spread when they are baking, so don’t worry about their growth.  Using the bottom of a glass, gently flatten the top of each cookie.

9.  Bake for around 8 minutes or until you can see the edges of the bottom getting golden brown.

10.  Pretend you are the Cookie Monster and EAT!  These go wonderfully with homemade hot cocoa.  Enjoy!

And watch this video while doing so:

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 9, 2010 7:16 am

    these look so good and easy to make—i can’t wait to try out the recipe. thanks!

Leave a Reply

