Skip to content

Creative Outlets: You are My Only Onesie

October 30, 2010

Baby fever had hit, people!  Everywhere I look, my friends and family are getting pregnant and producing offspring.  While I am in no hurry to have children, I do delight in creating adorable baby shower gifts!  How cute are baby clothes?!  Honestly!  They make me want to squeal every time I look at the little shoes!

My cousin J is having her first baby in December, and her baby shower is coming up next weekend.  J is a loud, bubbly, fabulous woman who is creating a baby girl named Paighton who will be just as fabulous.  I wanted to make something, not just pick something up at the nearest Target, for her shower.  J has been like an older sister to me growing up.  She did my hair for my senior prom and for my wedding in July (which she flew all the way in from North Carolina for!).  She threw me down the neighborhood hill to grab an Easter egg before me when I was ten.  We grew up together, so I wanted the gift to have some fabulous personality and a personal touch.

Enter the onesie.  Sure, moms-to-be get loads of them, but if you have ever really looked at them, they are kind of blah.  There is little personality.  There may be a little ducky or a saying, but nothing that shouts style.  It is my mission to fix that.  I decided to take some plain onesies and dress them up with fabric flowers.

I found a tutorial on how to make them here and went to Jo-Ann Fabrics to pick up some fabric squares.  I scored a deal by finding them on sale for $0.99 each, so I stocked up on eight colors.  I followed the tutorial and made up some shapes as I went.  Here are the results:

Each flower came out differently, which is something I love.  I made some larger, and I tried to coordinate the colors so that it would make it easier to select which ones go on which onesie.

I then clustered them together to organize and began the task of sewing them onto each outfit.  I wanted to create a different design on each one so that there was some variety along with the color.  I did the traditional bunch of three…

three in a diagonal row…

two in a row like the buttons on a sweater…

and around the collar.

Each one is a little different, and I love them all!  It took maybe about three hours to put it all together (when I should have been grading papers and projects), and I know little Paighton will be able to get some use out of them.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2010 11:15 am

    love it!

  2. December 30, 2010 1:47 am

    I have to admit that i sometimes get bored to read the whole thing but i think you can add some value. Grats !

Leave a Reply

