Skip to content

I am disinclined to acquiesce to your demands

October 13, 2010

That means no.

(Ten points if you can name that movie!)

There have been times in life where I am sure without a smidge of doubt that I have been demanding on B.  I mean, come on, we’ve been together for nearly the past nine years.  Before he proposed, I demanded that he know how to cook so that I wouldn’t be the slave in the kitchen and he would know how to feed himself when I wasn’t there.  This one worked out well for both of us.  He learned how to cook while in college and had a chance to experiment on himself before he unleashed his culinary prowess on people with different taste buds (mainly me).  I now have a partner in crime when thinking about our two-week meal schedule for grocery shopping.  I know he will be okay if I go out of town to hang out with friends or attend a teaching conference, and I know our apartment will not burn down because he tries to make “toast.”  We found that the Food Network and competition cooking shows are our mutual loves, allowing us to spend more time together bonding over something more than “how was your day?”

I have also demanded that we keep our apartment relatively clean.  It gets messy every once in a while like most homes, but we don’t have garbage everywhere and flies carrying us off in the night.  I also don’t have to clean the apartment by myself.  We live in it together, so we need to do the cleaning together.  Ah cohibitation.  It’s a lovely thing.

The other night, though, B did something he hasn’t ever really done before.  Around midnight, he couldn’t sleep, so he got out of bed to use his computer in the living room.  He was trying to be considerate so the noise and light wouldn’t wake me up.  He’s sweet.  I did wake up, however, and discovered that it was nearly impossible for me to fall back asleep not knowing where he was.  I could have called for him or searched, but at midnight, I didn’t really put two and two together.  The next morning, I ribbed him about it and honestly asked him not to leave bed again like that.

Where did he go last night?  On our bedroom floor to use his computer.  At midnight.

I’ll take that as a “no.”

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 14, 2010 1:18 am

    I maintain this wasn’t an unreasonable course of action! I thought what you needed was simply that I shouldn’t leave you alone; I didn’t want the light from my computer screen or the sound of me typing one foot from your sleeping ears to wake you up when I knew you were tired and sleep-deprived, so I picked a bit of floor and wall where we’d be well in view of each other if you suddenly awoke and needed me…

Leave a Reply

