Skip to content

When You’re a Newlywed…

September 29, 2010

When you’re a newlywed, it’s hard to tell people how life is.  After all, you just began this life.  It’s crazy, it’s fun, it’s exciting, it’s sometimes frustrating, it’s full of questions and worries and thoughts and what ifs.  It’s life, but with someone else by your side.

When I was planning our wedding, my husband (let’s call him B) and I were wrapped up in the details of throwing such a large event.  Many people are, after all, but I kept having this feeling that we should be going through pre-marriage counseling or something before we decided to say our vows.  Shouldn’t we know every single thing about each other before we pledge to be together for life?  Shouldn’t I know that you hate cinnamon before I end up baking everything with it?  Shouldn’t you know that I hate it when people use sponges on the counter when sponges are only meant to clean the dishes?

Maybe, by God’s great guidance, those differences would have come up during a weekend retreat, but maybe not.  There are certain experiences in life you have to be able to have to really understand each other.  B now understands that I loathe having water on the counter in the bathroom because when I lean again the counter, I look as if I have peed my pants.  I now understand that B needs to have some down time with his computer in the evening before I can start asking tons of questions about future plans.

We live, we learn, and we love.  Sure, we’ve only been married for 74 days, but we are taking our new life together step by step.  That’s how married life is.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 30, 2010 5:41 am

    Welcome, Welcome! It’s truly an exciting time. Looking forward reading your posts. 🙂

    MrsCalvin

    I have a marrige blog as well: http://www.delightlove.org

Leave a Reply

